• Kids World News


The Gorilla

There are two different gorilla species (each with two sub-species). The Western Gorilla has the sub-species: Western Lowland Gorilla and Cross River Gorilla; while the Eastern Gorilla has the sub-species: Mountain Gorilla and Eastern Lowland Gorilla. The two species live in central Africa, separated by a vast swathe of rainforest.

Gorillas are considered the largest primate! The biggest species of go-rilla can weigh up to 450 pounds for males and 300 pounds for females. They are about 5’5” when standing upright. Gorillas use all of their limbs while they walk, a technique called “knuckle-walking”. Western sub-species look mostly grey, while the Eastern subspecies have a more black coat.

Gorillas are herbivores, which means they only eat plants! A majority of the gorilla’s day is spent eating bamboo, leafy plants and sometimes small insects. It isn’t uncommon for a male gorilla to eat up to 40 pounds of food! Gorillas also can make and use tools to help them retrieve food.

Mothers often only have one baby at a time, but some cases of twins have been documented. Mothers carry the baby gorilla against their chest...

Read more about Gorillas in today's Visit the Wildside!

Click HERE to download this activity as a printable PDF.

Recent Posts

See All